100 Songs Everyone Should Listen to Before They Die….

I’m a self-proclaimed music geek. I like to think my musical knowledge expands far beyond the average Joe. I’m not in anyways a talented musician (I tried and tried but I’m mediocre at best) but I do know a lot about musicians and songs. Below are 100 songs I personally think everyone should listen to before they die….

 

  1. Holoscene – Bon Iver
  2. To Build a Home – The Cinematic Orchestra
  3. Everlong – Foo Fighters
  4. Eve, the Apple of my Eye – Bell X1
  5. Can’t Help Falling in Love – Elvis Presley
  6. How to Save a Life – The Fray
  7. Bird – Billie Marten
  8. The Times they are a Changin’ – Bob Dylan
  9. Beth/Rest – Bon Iver
  10. Falling Slowly – Glen Hansard, Marketa Irglova
  11. Guiding Light – Foy Vance, Ed Sheeran
  12. Landslide – Fleetwood Mac
  13. Everybody Hurts – R.E.M.
  14. Interwined – Dodie
  15. Piano Man – Billy Joel
  16. Cherry Wine – Hozier
  17. Bright Eyes – Art Garfunkel
  18. Novels – Rusty Clanton (I personally prefer his duet with Dodie available on YouTube)
  19. Heroes or Ghosts – The Coronas
  20. Life on Mars – David Bowie
  21. True Colours – Cindy Lauper
  22. I Heard it Through the Grapevine – Marvin Gaye
  23. Berlin – RY X
  24. On My Own – Samantha Barks (Les Misérables)
  25. West – Sleeping At Last
  26. Iris – Goo Goo Dolls
  27. The Scientist – Coldplay
  28. Colorblind – Counting Crows
  29. Man in the Mirror – Michael Jackson
  30. 00000 Million – Bon Iver
  31. Somebody to Love – Queen
  32. Bridge over Troubled Water – Simon & Garfunkel
  33. Youth – Daughter
  34. Hope There’s Someone – Anthony and the Johnsons
  35. With or Without You – U2
  36. We’re All in This Together – Old Crow Medicing Show
  37. Wait – M83
  38. Let it Be – The Beatles
  39. Edinburgh – The Lake Poets
  40. 9 Crimes – Damien Rice
  41. Open Your Eyes – Snow Patrol
  42. Backroads – Lonely the Brave (Recommend you watch the music video of this)
  43. I forget Where We Were – Ben Howard
  44. Fly – Meadowlark
  45. Many of Horror – Biffy Clyro
  46. Blood – The Middle East
  47. Zombie – The Cranberries
  48. Heartbeats – José González
  49. Wild Horses – Susan Boyle
  50. Start Again – Gabrielle Aplin
  51. Wicked Game – James Vincent McMorrow
  52. Give me Love – Ed Sheeran
  53. Imagine – John Lennon
  54. Free Fallin’ – John Mayer
  55. Truth Is a Beautiful Thing – London Grammar
  56. If I be Wrong – Wolf Larsen
  57. Speeding Cars – Walking on Cars
  58. End – The Half Earth
  59. Tiger Striped Sky – Roo Panes
  60. High Hope – Glen Hansard
  61. Against all Odds – Phil Collins
  62. Infatuation – Liu Bei
  63. Fast Car – Tracy Chapman
  64. Emily – Charlie Simpson
  65. Songbird – Fleetwood Mac
  66. Georgia – Vance Joy
  67. The Book of Love – Peter Gabriel
  68. Gravity – Sara Bareilles
  69. You and Me – Lifehouse
  70. 1904 – Benjamin Francis Leftwich
  71. Cavalier – James Vincent McMorrow
  72. Creep – Radiohead
  73. Emerald – Lyra
  74. She’s always a Woman – Billy Joel
  75. Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley
  76. Say Something – A Great Big World
  77. Run – Snow Patrol
  78. The Power of Love – Gabrielle Aplin
  79. One Day I’ll Fly Away – Randy Crawford
  80. Colours of the Wind – Vanessa Williams
  81. Moonriver – Audrey Hepburn
  82. Nervous – Gavin James
  83. Milk & Honey – Billie Marten
  84. The Boxer – Simon & Garfunkel
  85. Timshel – Mumford & Sons
  86. Skinny Love – Birdy
  87. I don’t want to Change You – Damien Rice
  88. Body Love – Mary Lambert
  89. Turning Tables – Adele
  90. Jealous – Labrinth
  91. Take me to Church – Hozier
  92. Mr Brightside – The Killers
  93. Yours – Ella Henderson
  94. Blowin’ in the Wind – Bob Dylan
  95. When – Dodie
  96. Opposites – Biffy Clyro
  97. Freewheel – Duke Special
  98. Get Here – Oleta Adams
  99. Love like this – RY X
  100. Strong – London Grammar

 

Quick note to say that these are in no order. Although Bon Iver’s Holocene is actually my favourite song (I might possibly write a blog post about my love for the song at some point in the future), I love London Grammar’s ‘Strong’ as much as any song above it on the list. These are merely 100 songs I personally feel everyone should listen to at some point during their life.

2 thoughts on “100 Songs Everyone Should Listen to Before They Die….”

  1. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing issues with your website. It appears as if some of the written text on your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Kudos

    Like

Leave a Reply

